Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Newbie to Diesel needs help starting issue 1999 E300TD

21K views 147 replies 14 participants last post by  Digmenow 
#1 ·
Hi everyone! I am new to the Benz world, I just purchased my first Benz 3 days ago. I purchased it as a project. The car had a bad starter when I purchased it and the guys said that after it stands for a while it doesn't start right away.

I had the car towed to my house and got to work on it. I changed the starter and the car now turns over, however it does not start. I called the former owner and he said that it does that after it has been sitting for a few weeks it doesn't always start. I was getting ready to do a compression test and decided to test fuel pressure first (not sure if this is the most correct way) by unscrewing the first cylinder fuel line at the fuel injector and cranking the engine. Nothing happened. There should be a fuel spray when cranking, correct? There is also wetness around fuel regulator See attached. Anyone have any ideas on what the next step should be?

Attachments

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Hi Jeremy,
To answer your main question:'does fuel spurt out of the hard lines' (my edit), no it does not. At best a dribble, drop or less. I was surprised too when I learned this on my W124 diesel, but yes that is the case: only a very small amount comes out.

Your no start issue is best diagnosed by reading the fuel line threads here, changing the filters(main and pre) with the o-rings. This simple step usually gets things to a car starting level.

The wetness you see is fuel leaking past the o-rings and those fuel lines seem to be going to the shut off valve.

It is mostly likely a good idea to change all the plastic lines as the two shown in the photo are brown indicating they are old. Old lines themselves are not bad, but old lines have old o-rings which leak air and these engines don't like that.

Congrats on the purchase and take advantage of th wealth of knowledge here.

#4 ·