Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

in search of information

715 views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  KarlBenzSF 
#1 ·
i'm looking at getting a W210 wagon in the near future..so figured i'd come over and see what they are all about. whats the best wagon model? common complaints/issues? anything to especially look for in maintenance records? any help you can provide will be beneficial. thanks in advance

#6 · (Edited)
I bought a 2001 E320 Wagon at the beginning of the year. At the time it had 139k miles. My wife and I really like the car. We have 3 dogs, so we put them in the back with the netting up and life is good.

I'm working on getting the car's demons exercised out of the car. Nothing serious, though. I hope all my issues and updated maintenance items will be resolved/competed within the next two months. I'm a newbie shade tree mechanic so that probably explains a lot. I must say most things are not hard to fix. With all the information, DIY stickies, and the gracious help from the members, this forum is invaluable.

Here are the problems I have encounted:
- Middle row folding seat would not go down. Fixed with help from several stickies.
- Radio not working. The issue was actually the amp needed replacing. Replaced head unit while I was at it. Wanted Bluetooth, Sat Radio, etc.
- Transmission would clunk and go into limp mode. Fixed that by flushing transmission fluid, replacing gasket/filter/etc. Also replaced the transmission wire plug. Had small amount of oil in there.
- Replaced transmission and motor mounts. Huge difference in riding experience!
- Replaced rear flex disk. Didn't do the front since previous owner had transmission replaced at 109k miles and it looked like they replaced the front disk.
- Replaced differential fluid. The old fluid was really dirty
- Replaced fuel filter, MAF sensor, air filter (still getting CEL light) - continue to work on that issue
- Currently have vacuum pump issue. Not sure what the source problem is.