Should my engine sound like that? - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-25-2010, 09:45 AM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Dec 2009
Vehicle: 04-CLK55 AMG/03-CLK320 Conv/01-ML430/00-E320 /50 Olds 88/RIP-01 E320 wagon
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Should my engine sound like that?

I am new to MB as of December so it's just a sound I'm not familiar with.

As I work my way through some issues with my recently purchased CLK55 I am curious about the sound of the engine. When I start it cold I can hear a "whine" that will reduce significantly in a few seconds but than stays constant. It's hard to describe but it's not a squeeling belt, bearing knock, grinding or fuel injector click. It rises and falls with engine speed. Somewhat mechanical like a gear.

I am reasonably sure this is not coming from any of the pulleys as I have used a stethoscope on each. The sound cannot be pin pointed to a specific side of the engine but from underneath it is most clearly heard from the front of the oil pan so I'm thinking either oil pump or timing chain. (the fact that it goes away after a few seconds leads me to believe it may be related to anything that needs to be lubircated or build up pressure.)

The car runs great and this may not be an issue at all but I'm mostly curious if there are any known issues like a timing chain, tensioner or noisy oil pump as I imagine any of those would be costly if a complete failure occured.

Any thoughts on the matter are appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 05-25-2010, 06:13 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2004 CLK 240 Coupe
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
It's a bit presumptious of me to reply as I do not own a CLK55, but I think that the sound is most likely to be the timing chain - when cold. I seem to remember that my M112 engine initially whines, but it soon quietens down as it warms up.