Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

W204 DIY Videos for those willing to have a go.

99K views 94 replies 27 participants last post by  Parknest 
#1 · (Edited)
I've made a bunch of DIY videos for the C Class to try to de-mystify working on these cars. They're no big deal and you can improvise in most cases so you don't need all the MB special tools. I do a better job at looking after my C Class than a business where it's just Job # XYZ.

I'm a retired Civil Engineer so I'm not a complete idiot ... although my wife may have a different view.

Standard Oil+ Filter Change by removing sump plug
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUFKtA1lDC4&list=TLMwyx5S99INDUdCK5JJxqXDQc982VlFxR

Change front brake pads
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ButRvF9GSE&list=TLSmuy2DMYWXu7JZBwZd54eWe5FSB9rLiU

Change rear brake pads
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktmYSXoKhQc&list=TL0FQ3IjOoc5xgoV_a_s_jz6Bwnqm1r7oG

7GTronic transmission service and oil cooler flush
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-72EN_pqUU

Change brake fluid and bleed system
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=061km5wQv8A

plus a bunch of others including:

How to remove and install the COMAND scrolling knob.
How to repair the COMAND scrolling knob as the internal shaft breaks at four years ... better than paying a small fortune for a new one.
Removing the COMAND head unit
Removing the flip out screen
Back up camera installation
Removing the overhead console
Oil+Filter change using an extractor pump

Also an epic video of recovery from ORIF ankle surgery on my shattered distal Tibia. Could be helpful if you ever badly break your ankle and need plates and screws to put it back together. The Surgeons tell you very little so you're left in the dark a lot of time not knowing what's ahead. I've laid out the various stages so you'll have some insight. Ankle fractures are very common if your an active person.

See less See more
#2 ·
Looks awesome! Thank you for your time in make these videos. I'm sure to look at them when I need do something.