Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Howdy, I'm a newbie haha :) I require advice at your earliest convenience.

5K views 58 replies 6 participants last post by  alecmascot 
#1 ·
Hello fellow Mercedes owners and enthusiasts,

I recently purchased my first ever Mercedes Benz at auction in the form of a beautiful silver 2005 MY06 C200K classic 1.8 Supercharged 5 speed Auto with 235,000 klm's showing.

Upon picking it up it drove wonderfully and I was ecstatic with it despite it having the CEL on. I am familiar somewhat with the amount of sensors and possible reasons for these lights showing up so I took a gamble and purchased it.

All was great until I allowed my brother in law to take it around the block for a "test drive" after which the car started going into some kind of presumed "safe mode" when driving.

This was basically the feeling of running on 2 cylinders until I pulled over, turned the car off and then back on. It would resume normal driving for a few moments before reverting to this cut out cylinder version. I read possibly on this very forum that if the ECU detected a misfire it would shut down fuel delivery to the offending cylinder? So I took it to a parts store called Super Cheap Auto who offer a scanning service for $28.00. I was told the machine he used cost over $7000 but i soon became aware that the user had no idea what he was doing.

I received 5 pages of repetitive codes including "Roof operating unit 2.1" My car does not have a sunroof nor is it convertible so that baffled me. Other codes reported that many things were under voltage.
others were -
*Misfire detection - Cylinder 1
*84 Camshaft timing - Open Circuit
*11 Camshaft position sensor - Inlet: No Signal
*35 Intake manifold pressure sensor -Open Circuit/Positive Short
*20 Boost Pressure -Too High

I took my car home with the 5 page report and a new set of spark plugs and changed them out. It continued to start well, idle well but also engage in "safe mode".