#1 (permalink) Old 01-30-2011, 04:49 PM
BenzWorld Extremist

Date registered: Jan 2011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
2005 C230 kompressor spark plug change

I have a 2005 C230 kompressor (W203, M271 engine). I changed the spark plugs this weekend. Disclaimer: I am a lawyer, not a mechanic. This is for information purposes only. You should have auto maintenance done by trained and experienced professionals. You could injure or kill yourself and/or destroy your car and tools if you work on it yourself. I’m not responsible for any of that. Other models or years may be totally different. This is what I used.

¼” ratchet and sockets
nutdriver that uses ¼” sockets
3/8” ratchet, extensions
5/8” spark plug socket
E8 star socket ($20 star socket set at Autozone)
4 new Bosch spark plugs, FR6332 per spec in manual (ordered from Amazon, $40 shipped. Few auto parts stores will have this plug in stock)
torque wrench (18.5 ft. lbs. included in range)

These are the steps I followed.

1. Wait until engine is cold. You don’t want to burn yourself on hot parts.

2. Disconnect negative battery cable. It is grounded near the battery on a stud and nut. Anytime working on anything electrical, do this first. Be careful not to drop the nut. I did and had to use a flashlight and magnetic pick up to fish it out from where it fell into a gap by the battery.

3. Remove plastic engine cover. It just pulls off at the corners.

4. You will see the coils. The M271 uses coil on plug ignition. There is one coil per plug and no spark plug wires or distributor. If there is dirt or grime, blow it off with compressed air or clean it off. You don’t want anything to fall into cylinder because it could mean a new engine. On my car, it was clean enough to eat under the cover. Thanks, cover.

5. Pinch both wiring harness tabs where harness connects to coil and unplug harness connector.