Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Re-drill Cross drilled rotors?

2K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  FrankW 
#1 ·
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to this forum but I have learned a wealth of knowledge so far. I've done a search for my question but have not been bale to find an answer. It's time for my front brakes to be serviced ( I have 23k on OEM pads and rotors) and they are cross drilled. My local delaer is telling me that I don't need the rotors turned but that they do need to re-drill the cross drilled holes because of brake dust build up. Does this sound right? I've never heard of such a thing and I'm hoping to get some feed back from all the informative people here. I appreciate your responses. Also should I stay with OEM replacement pads or do dealers carry other brands that don't produce so much brake dust. This is the first vehicle I have had that has produced so much brake dust.

#4 ·
FrankW..... Thanks for the advise. How do I know if I need to have the rotors turned and new pads, or leave the rotors as they are and just put on new pads?

#5 ·
Rotors should be mic'ed to see that they are thick enough according to spec for that rotor. If they are, and they are not badly grooved or warped you can just put pads on. If you switch pad formulations you should at least clean the surface with emery cloth and brake cleaner. What may happen initially is it may squeal for a few weeks until the pads mate to the surface of the rotor.

#8 ·
Now hold on; I had some cross drilled rotors years ago, at least from memory, I thought it was Verbotten to redrill your crossed-drill rotors? Isn't that still the
standard? I could have sworn I read in the mfg. installation instructions it
is Verbotten.

Anyway; if you have build up, why not just clean out the plugged up holes?
A low speed drill, metal drill bit, PERFECTLY fitting the holes, you can clean up
those plugged up holes.
Then put on a buffing emery pad on the drill and buff out the glazing, dirt, minor
scratches etc.