Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

What is this sound?

2K views 18 replies 6 participants last post by  Patman1 
#1 ·
I feel like my engine is making this odd sound, almost like it's now a diesel? Or just has a fluttering noise in idle and when I rev the engine. The car is a C230 2000 Kompressor has 83,000 miles on it. Oil change recently and tranny fluid changed recently. No significant mods to car.

Any help would be appreciated!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/-_Mvnt7uqDo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

#5 ·
Thanks for replying! Excellent help, and I did take a look at the entire exhaust set up. It's all OEM and doesn't seem like anything is wrong with it. The tensioner you're mentioning where is its location?

Thanks again for your help! Sorry I'm pretty new to working on my own car..

#7 ·
In my experience, the lever and the axle bolt are what wear out. I'd replace the entire assembly - in fact, I've had to.

Fortunately, it's not that difficult on the 4-cylinder engine.

#11 ·
The tensioners on this car are the more modern metal spring type and tend to last a long time. The older type with rubber bushing and lever arm on the older M104 engines were more touchy and a lot of replace parts were crap. If the belts are still tight, they are probably OK. You have an idler pulley and a tensioner pulley. Either one of them can need replacing. Remove belts and spin everything to see if there is any noise. Tensioner shock is a common source of noise when they get old. You can test it by pressing on the top bolt with a big screwdriver or pry bar while engine is running. The top bushing gets old and shrinks and starts to rattle. If it settles down when you push on it, it needs replacing. Noise is particularly loud at startup.

#13 ·
regarding the tensioner glenmore has said all you need. the noise does sound like my car did with a bad tensioner.