Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Engine Raising / Dropping / rebuilding for 1994 c280

1K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  panzerbenzer 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all,
So, I just bought a used 1994 c280 with the classic 2.8 liter/in-line 6 cylinder engine. On a good day, the car drives great. It runs smoothly; the chassis is sturdy(it handles speed, corners, and bumps better than any other car I've driven :thumbsup: ); but the engine is complete garbage :crybaby2: . It has every standard bug and issue associated with this model. It stalls at a standstill, it smokes like a chimney, I only get 10-13 highway miles per gallon (!with premium gas!), changing the oil doesn't help because it turns dark again after about 70-80 miles, and most recently I've been having trouble starting it. Given the amount of issues the engine has and the amount of mileage on it (175k), I've decided to attempt an engine overhaul/rebuild, rather than taking it to a mechanic for bare-minimum repairs. I'm a newbie at working on a benz, so I wanted to know if the engine can be removed from the car without moving the transmission, or must the transmission be removed with the engine as one unit :confused: ? If anyone has some suggestions, I'd appreciate it.

#2 ·
Hmm, I'm not sure what on earth could have happened to cause some of that. But big parts of it can be explained by the known issues: head gasket, wiring harness.

I have read horror stories of what happens to an m104 when the previous owner ran nothing but 87/89 in it, thinking that mercedes went through all the trouble of putting multiple "PREMIUM ONLY" labels all over the car in various languages for nothing.

Sounds like you know what you're doing, though. I'd pull the oil pan and look for metal shavings first, before I bothered with a rebuild :)

#3 ·