BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Nov 2012
Vehicle: 91 190E 2.6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Question Strut help please

Hello everyone, I am new to the world of cars, having owned trucks my entire life suspension was always an easy fix. I have a 91 190e with 200k miles on it and the suspension is crap! I will be ordering some bilstein struts for the front and haven't done much research for the rear suspension yet. So my question is, what is the correct way to replace these myself? I know you can really injure yourself if you do it wrong so I want to make sure I don't do that! These struts are different than most I've seen because The spring is separate from the actual strut itself. I am replacing the mounting cup as well so would it be safe to just take the whole unit out and put the new strut and mounting cup in its place or is that incorrect? Thanks for any input
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 03:45 AM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Mar 2008
Vehicle: '87--190E 2.3-16v, '92--300TE 4-Matic
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
you need a legitiment spring compressor

i need my star cleaned too

'91 2.3 DD
#3 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 07:18 AM
BenzWorld Member

(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turnpike View Post
you need a legitiment spring compressor
I though that would be the case. So I will just remove the assembly and brig them to a shop to have the new struts put in the old assembly. Thank you!
#4 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 07:20 AM
BenzWorld Member

(Thread Starter)
What about the rear struts? How do I get to those and does bilstein make them? Any suggestions on product?
#5 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 07:23 AM
BenzWorld Junior Member

No compressor needed front or rear, the springs are mounted separately. At least they are on my 1988 190.
#6 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 07:25 AM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: SLR
Send a message via AIM to AMGViper