BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Oct 2011
Vehicle: 1991 2.3 8v Desert Taupe Metallic
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Coolant leak: Heater core suspect

I've been losing coolant for a couple of months now. Never leave home without a jug of anti-freeze in the trunk.

Stopped by my mechanic this morning to get a diagnosis. I've been underneath the car enough to know that the leak comes from above the bellhousing which made me think the leak was in the vicinity of the heater core.

Once the car was on the lift the mechanic said definitely heater core and claimed the leak was coming through a venting tube piped from the core housing. He estimated replacement cost at $1,000. and figured he need three days from start to finish (10 hours total labor).

Okay I wasn't too surprised, but I'm wondering if there is any other explanation. There is no smell of coolant in the cabin. Heat works fine. No moisture or steam anywhere. Is it possible to have a coolant leak in the interior of the car and no signs or symptoms anywhere other than coolant loss?

Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 05-09-2012, 11:24 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '87 190E 2.3
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Have you checked under the wiper cowl? It's possible the rubber hoses there are leaking.

If you really want to check if it's the heater core, get a large length of coolant hosing and bypass the heater core entirely, it's not terribly hard to do. At least that will isolate the leak and make it easier to work on the heater core.

If you have the ability, I'd recommend doing the heater core yourself. It only requires basic tools, a service manual and some patience. I did it myself about a year and a half ago, just need to pull the dash apart. A new OEM heater core was around 95 dollars from parts.com.