BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Feb 2011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
2008 ML 320 CDI air filter

Hi everyone,

i own a 2008 ML 320 CDI. i would like to replace my air filters on them, but there is simply no room to get to removing the box cover. It is my first time working on this vehicle. If anyone works on em or has experience replacing air filters on this vehicle, id like to ask you kindly to offer me some helpful advice

thanks for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 02-02-2011, 06:50 AM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 2008 ML 320CDI
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I have done this some time ago and I can tell you that it is possible to remove the covers without goiing thru all the dissasembly covered in the tech docs. The drivers side is the toughest and requires patience and lots of trial and error. As I recall, the cover has to move forward and then the rear has to be pulled/pushed up to clear the cowl. I made a small tear in the cowl insulation not watcing closely. Just keep working at it and loosen any wiriing bundles or lines that get in the way. Good luck!
#3 (permalink) Old 02-02-2011, 12:41 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: May 2005
Vehicle: '07 GL320CDI
According to factory procedure, after element is replaced, STAR DIAGNOSIS is used to reset adaptations.

That is, this is yet another procedure NOT suitable to DIY.

And yet another example to reinforce the point it's absolutely foolish to attempt ANY DIY without owning the factory Service DVD or subscribing at startekinfo.

http://www.startekinfo.com/StarTek/o...tedDocId=11498

Kent Christensen
Albuquerque
'07 GL320CDI

Last edited by lkchris; 02-02-2011 at 12:46 PM.
#4 (permalink) Old 02-02-2011, 01:13 PM
BenzWorld Senior Member

Date registered: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesalot View Post