Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Help needed in Phoenix, AZ!!

1K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  MBSL250 
#1 ·
Hi, all.

I normally post in the W129 section (big 500sl roadster fan), so I'm new to this side.

My father-in-law spends his winters in the Tempe / Phoenix / Scottsdale area, and his 2001 Mercedes SUV has crapped out on him. He originally went to the dealer, but the problems went away, and they presented him with a big bill even though they didn't actually do anything beyond running a diagnostic. he's been to several shops with no success, they seem to think he's got electrical issues, but no luck fixing them. Now it's at yet another shop, been there two days, they haven't figured it out and aren't even returning his calls!

Anybody here have a suggestion of a reputable shop in the area that would treat him right? Somebody that can diagnose problems properly. Obviously, he doesn't want to get burned, but he's prepared to pay what's necessary to get back up and running.

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

#2 ·
Welcome to the board and I hope you had a good thanksgiving. Anyway, I don't live in AZ but a lot of us here have experienced a ton of ML issiues. We may even be able to diagnose some or most of the issues your dad is experiencing. What are his ML's problems. Please supply as much details as possible. Some of the sruff can be simple DIY or just looking as a TSB.

#3 ·
Out of warranty service in Arizona

I've used Stuttgart Auto in Tucson for my out of warranty service on our (now sold) 1999 ML430. They can do anything that the dealer does for less money and they treated me well. They use genuine Mercedes parts as well. Of couse, you have a 200 plus mile round trip drive from Phoenix to deal with.

#4 ·
canuckcarnut said:
Hi, all.