Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1997 S500 Climatized barn find

2K views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  anziani 
#1 ·
Hey all,

First post, I am a total newb to Mercedes and obviously the W140. That being said I am currently (and most likely forever) a rabid fan of this exquisite piece of machinery. I picked up this car sight unseen at an online estate sale in Scottsdale AZ. They had an online walk through of the house (owner passed away) and the entire place and furnishings were immaculate, on a lark I bid on the Mercedes knowing it had low miles and figured the owner had taken great care of it... He did.

I had a 2015 Audi A5 and I was sick of watching the depreciation on it, decided to flip gears and go another route, bought the S500 and immediately sold the A5, so far it's the best decision I've ever made.

Purchased new and traded in to a dealership in Nebraska in 1999, then purchased by the guy I ended up getting it from 2 months ago who moved it to AZ where it's been ever since. I chatted with his family when I picked it up and they said it was his baby and that he would not let people get into the car if they were wearing Levi's. :laugh

Couple of minor issues that I will ask about as time goes on but cruising at 125 MPH through the desert on it's way home was a transcendent moment for me, Im hooked.

Grew up in an auto body shop that my father owned, I like playing with cars, here is a project I have that is ongoing (taking an extended break at the moment) at The Samba.

https://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=338895

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to BW

As an owner of a low mileage car too, I must say that there are (likely) some hidden flaws in such a sleeping beauty.
Despite the great the condition your S500 seems to be in, you should plan on undertaking some work on it before another 125 mph run on the highway.

Change ALL fluids and carefully inspect suspension/tires/brakes. Check engine and transmission mounts.