Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Windows won't go up.

14K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  oefvetw124lover 
#1 ·
I just bought a 95 S600 and while figuring out what everything does, I rolled down the rear windows and BOTH will not roll up. Is there some trick or do both now need me to open up the panels?
If so, is there a "How to" anywhere for this? I can't find anything in the manual of how to get the panels off.

Sorry, total newbie and first day with my new toy and already having problems.

#3 ·
Looks like each side is something different. One side only slightly tries to roll the window up, but won't move it past about 1/2 inch. The cord inside doesn't seem to get stuck on something and can't keep going. I can't figure out what it might be getting stuck on.

The other seemed to just push the cord along, but it would get bunched up and not actually move the window. Like it's not connected somewhere. I was able to manually push the window back up and I could electronically roll it back down if needed, but I'd have to open the door back up to get it up again which I won't be doing until it's really fixed. At least it won't get wet in the rain and not stolen.

Any thoughts with this description as to what it could be on the window that won't go up still or the other? Could it be stuck off track or something preventing it from going up at all even manually?

#5 ·
Follow that link Pcmaher posted up, it helped me very much!

When I bought my S320, both rear windows were problematic.

The left one would go down, but not up again. (Just like yours) and the other one did not work at all!

After stripping both panels, I found the left one had the top cable snapped on the window regulator, and the other door had the motor completely off laying at the bottom of the dorr with bits and pieces of the regulator.