How much $ should it cost to fix vacuum leak in intake manifold? - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-05-2003, 01:55 PM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: May 2003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
How much $ should it cost to fix vacuum leak in intake manifold?

My local MB dealer has quoted me about $1,600 to repair a vacuum leak in the intake manifold, which they say is causing a high idle.

I'm no mechanic, so I don't know exactly what this means, but it sure sounds like a lot of $.

Does anyone out there know how much this should cost, or whether they are trying to take me to the cleaners?

I think if it really is a $1,600 job, I'll just live with the high idle.

Thanks!

AR[?]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 06-07-2003, 06:08 PM
BenzWorld Senior Member

Date registered: Dec 2002
Vehicle: 560SEC
How high is your idle? Re-sealing the intake manifold should run about $650. It's not ...

How high is your idle? Re-sealing the intake manifold should run about $650. It's not really a DIY job. $1600 is outrageous. I doubt that it would be causing a high idle anyway, a rough idle yes, but not a high idle.

1989 560SEC
1987 560SEC
#3 (permalink) Old 06-07-2003, 06:33 PM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Sep 2002
Vehicle: 1983 300 SD
Idle Problems..

What kind of vehicle to you have? My 420SEL was idling to slow, so I took the air breather off (easy), pulled off the idle (long skinny tubular metal piece, with adjustments on both ends, that fit on little ball type things), i'm no mechanic, but I fixed my idle myself by adjusting the ends of the idle. I hope this helps, sorry for the lack of terminology!
j.
#4 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 05:11 AM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Dec 2012
Vehicle: 2000 S430