Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Dont laugh, barn find, prestine body, sitting 3 yrs. Help 82 380 Sec

4K views 28 replies 17 participants last post by  cyberdyne 
#1 ·
Ok. im not a total newb. But i just wanted to star the documentation of my coupe. I found a 1982 380 SEC perfect body chrome updated wheels, all i had to do was take it out of storage and clean out the room it was in. (plus 500 bucks) I think it was worth it . It came with a complete set of OEM mercedes wheels and new tires. plus the chrome mercedes rims on car. Anyways previous owner said it just died while he was driving and didnt have time to diagnose before he was deployed in AF. I washed off the two inches of brown dirt to reveal an impecable body. All electronics work, engine cranks freely but does not fire. I purchased oil and fuel filters, new plugs, new oil. I plan to do all that before my appt with import mech. Ive heard its probably the fuel dist. hoping its just gunked up. Just want your opinion on whether or not I made a decent purchase. The car is all white, chrome merc wheels. 500 bucks sounded like a decent deal, even though I knew it would prob be a money pit. Id just like to get it running so I could trade it off or sell it for a tad more then I put in it. Am i dreaming? I will keep yall updated as I progress .

Hopefull Benz in Texas:thumbsup:

#2 ·
Welcome, please read the 'Welcome to the Forum' tutorial sticky on top of the W126 forum page. It will show you how to 'seach', and why / how the completion of your personal profile with a location / car mods makes it easier for members to offer advice.

#6 ·
HAHAHAHA

380=replace timing chain right away ------thats all i have to say---for 500$ about average
your thread is worthless without pictures of your "find"

#7 ·