BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 1985 380SE
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Anyone use Beta tools?

I'm getting tired of my junky old ratchet set. Snap on is so...played out (plus 36 teeth for the most part, plus they aren't very metric friendly with only 1 metric ratchet set, plus $$$). Facom has left the US thanks to Stanley's purchase, SK isn't the same without Facom, Craftsman sucks, Hazet who I like for wrenches I don't like for ratchets, Wiha who I like for screwdrivers doesn't even make ratchets, so I'm looking at Beta. Anybody use them? Thoughts? Other brands to consider?
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 10-11-2006, 12:06 PM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Jun 2006
If you are going to use them quite a bit or on a daily basis, go with Snap-on. I was a dealership tech for 20+ years and a Snap-on Tool dealer for 7 years until I relocated. The more you learn about how they are made, features/ benefits etc, you will understand why most professionals and serious mechanics use them. We also sold Hazet, AST,and other vendors for certain speciality tools. Hook up with a Snap-on dealer in your area and have him explain the differences to you. There are props to prove why the "Flank Drive" sockets and wrenches grab better, why their screwdriver tips and handles give more turning force, etc. When you are shown the differences you will be amazed. As far as sets go, just buy the pieces that you want as you need them. Talk to the dealer about setting up a truck account and make payments to him ( no interest ). Get a catalog and price list from him. This is sort of like buying cheap aftermarket replacement parts for your car. They don't quite fit as well, last as long, but man I saved $$$$ ???? Just something to think about.
#3 (permalink) Old 10-11-2006, 02:30 PM
BenzWorld Elite

(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave D