BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Apr 2005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ensignthomas
(Thread Starter)
'88 560SEL stalling/missing problem

I am totally new to Mercedes-Benz's. But, I just bought an 88 560SEL. . .very, very clean inside/out. . .with 99k on it for $5200. A/c great, all electrical stuff works, never been wrecked, etc. The car will start and idle usually just fine. . .no weird noises or anything else out of the ordinary. However, under acceleration, it will fall flat on its face and stall. I can get maybe up to 30mph before it "misses". It will stall. I put it in neutral and it will start up just fine. . .then the same thing happens again. If this was a car that I was familiar with, I would say either clogged fuel filter and/or bad fuel pump as I have run into this with other cars I've owned. I got a CarFax report on it and the report says that at times over the last 17 years it just sat. . .the use of the vehicle by the prior owner did not seem to be ordinary or daily. Could it sitting around have caused some rusting to occur in the tank, and the rust has clogged the fuel filter? Or, could it be something more complex? It is not the transmission because there are times when it will have a hard time starting after one of these stalling episodes. And, the missing/stalling seems to also occur at low speeds rounding turns. All opinions respected and appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 04-03-2005, 04:44 AM
BenzWorld Senior Member

Date registered: Sep 2003
Vehicle: 280GE 320TE 300E
RE: '88 560SEL stalling/missing problem

another thing to check is the injectors. they wear out. i'm getting mine replaced tomorrow as my SEC is missing at low rpm and surges under acceleration
#3 (permalink) Old 04-03-2005, 07:12 AM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 1989 W201.029/M103 3.0