Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Using a high output inverter.

5K views 35 replies 7 participants last post by  smart_guy 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello guys.

I'm on a 88amp battery and a 115amp alternator. Can I use a high output alternator on them connected directly to the battery while the engine is on?

I'm having in mind true wave ~1000watt inverters.

General questions:
1- Is the final amperage on a running engine taken from the battery or the alternator rating?
2- The engine will be idling at 700-750 RPM. How much of the max power is achieved?
3- Are there any effects and risks of this practice?
3- Am I asking valid question on a right scenario here? I'm new to this and all of the above is based on assumptions.

Thank you in advance!

#2 ·
Hello guys.

I'm on a 88amp battery and a 115amp alternator. Can I use a high output alternator on them connected directly to the battery while the engine is on?

I'm having in mind true wave 800-1000watt inverters.

General questions:
1- Is the final amperage on a running engine taken from the battery or the alternator rating?
2- The engine will be idling at 700-750 RPM. How much of the max power is achieved?
3- Are there any effects and risks of this practice?
3- Am I asking valid question on a right scenario here? I'm new to this and all of the above is based on assumptions.

Thank you in advance!
How much current are you going to be pulling from the inverter (what are you using it for) powering a laptop or boiling a kettle?? The answer that will help you get better information.

Inverters are pretty inefficient. IIRC, if you are drawing a large current from your inverter, the battery will be discharged quicker than the alternator can top it up. There is a lot of information on the www about this but I'm sure people here, smarter than me, will give you more clarification.

#4 ·
Thank you for the reply, Rory.