Car overheating - Mercedes-Benz Forum

Go Back   Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Sedan Forums > W124 E,CE,D,TD Class
New User? Register - Forgot Password

BenzWorld.org is the premier Mercedes-Benz Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2013, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jul 2013
Vehicle: 1990 Mercedes Benz 300E
Car overheating

I've looked up this question on this site but the thing is I'm a complete newbie when it comes to stuff about cars. Anyways my 1990 Mercedes Benz 300e has had this problem for a long time now probably a little under a year. The temperature of the car will be fine until I drive for at least 15 minutes and even then it's okay but once I hit traffic or a stop thats when the temperature starts to rise; I have to turn the heater on and rev the engine while on neutral or park which helps the temperature go down a little bit. If the temperature has been hot for long enough it will throw out all the coolant and sometimes there will be a loud noise sounds like alot of pressure trying to escape and it almost sounds like it's going to blow up as it gets very loud. Here are some pictures if it helps any, and the car also has a check engine light on which may be related to the problem?
Also the arrows show that there is something missing and if it's important? the car has been doing this before these parts fell off and its been running the same.
Attached Thumbnails
Car overheating-img_0030.jpg   Car overheating-img_0032.jpg   Car overheating-img_0033.jpg   Car overheating-img_0034.jpg  

Last edited by geralriver; 07-11-2013 at 08:05 PM.
geralriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2013, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
BenzWorld Junior Member

i took the cap off the first picture but the first picture with the arrows was to show that i have seen the water leak out through there