Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

work to own, 1991 300SL 3.2L manual?

3K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  300E_And_A_Taco 
#1 ·
this car is a florida title, "Certificate of Destruction"
all parts are legal to use, the chassis is not tho.
will the electrics, gearbox, linkages, and all the other whatnot swap over to my 89 300E?

#2 ·
Do a search on M103 to M104 conversion see what issues people have had.

Anything can be made to fit. and you have all the electrics etc.

I have no experience with this but things that come to mind are :

- the wiring might be unuseable due to size differences between the two cars (i.e not long enough wiring to cabin computers etc)

- probably need a different tail shaft due to length difference in vehicles and going manual transmission.

- instrumentation will be needed the 300SL cluster probably wont fit the 300E (tacho, speedo will be wrong in the 300E after the change)

- engine/transmission mounts quite possibly different between an SL and an E.

Good Luck and try to photo/document the process because I am sure there are lots of people interested !

#3 ·
It would take a bunch of work, but is doable. That SL has a M104.98 motor. The motor was only available in 90-92 300SL's and 300CE's in North America. One critical and specific part of the electrical system is the EZL. Nothing from any other model will work. All of the other electrical components will be needed as well as the CC amp, brake/clutch switches. Instrument cluster and differential. Get the big brakes off all 4 corners as well.

Take a deep breath and go for it. The 300E would be pretty stealthy.

Jayare

Sent from my DROID2 using AutoGuide.Com Free App

#4 ·