Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

92 400E Headlight Replacement

20K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  nsunshine032 
#1 ·
I am looking to replace my water damaged, sun faded, cracked, and ugly headlights. I would like to find a pair similar to this

but I have the older style wipers that face outward not inward.

I am having a hell of a time finding a pair that has this style glass and is made for the 92 400E. I ordered one pair and found out halfway through installation that they would not work because the wiper motor and wiper blade bar position were moved when Mercedes transitioned to inward facing blades. Also my car has electric high beam and low beams not numatic(air). The electric hookups are square. I am at a loss and need some help.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
This is a much traveled topic, using the search function for euro headlights will get you eveything you are looking for, (but since I'm a noob myself, I'll give you the nickel tour). I just finished making the conversion on my 92 300CE and it went rather smoothly because I had researched everything and had all the correct parts before I started.

Depending on how much of a purist you are and want to keep your 400E, (OEM Parts or not), there are a few ways to go. I wanted to keep Boshe or Heller units, but there are aftermarket units that look similar and are readily available. The factory Euro parts are expensive, but I was lucky to find a new/slightly used Boshe pair right from this forum. They fit perfectly and will allow for future installation of the euro style wipers if I ever decide to do that.