Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Fuel Distributor Unit - Stumbling Start Update

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  iragreenstein 
#1 ·
After a week the dealer has determined that the car needs a new fuel distributor unit. Apparently this is a rebuilt part as there are no new ones and the re-built unit is $2,000 US.

The symptom is that in hot weather the car will stumble and lose power upon take off from a stop. This happens intermittently. Any thoughts? According to dealer this is largely the cost of the part rather than labor. Seems like a hugely expensive part to me.

#2 ·
I can't see it being the fuel distrubtor. I'm no expert on the internals of the distributor, but all it does is distibute the fuel mechanicaly. I can't imagine and have never heard of temperature affecting this part.

If you do go along with the dealer and replace it, make sure you get their assurance that if it's not the cause they will refund your money.

It could be a fuel evaporation problem in very hot wheather, but the dealer should be able to test the fule pressures when it's really hot and you would imagine the pressure would drop.

I would take the fuel distibution unit completey off and check the rubber housing underneath. I had a similar problem on a 190 2.5-16v which when hot would stumble big time if you floored the throttle on the motorway. It turned out to be a split in the housing I mentioned earlier.

Just an idea.

#3 ·
Spanners is correct. Temperature should not have any effect on fuel dist. operation. A few other things to consider. (1) Fuel pump/pumps condition (2) fuel filter (3) condition of CIS injectors. Sometimes overlooking the obvious leaves you open for other unecessary repairs.

#6 ·