Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Introducing myself and my 300TD

1K views 11 replies 11 participants last post by  Ryukein 
#1 ·
A lot of this will be copy-pasted from my thread in The Car Lounge

I'm a 21yo automotive design student and back in May I bought my first car: A 1984 300TD with 180k miles and no rust. The PO did a full respray from the window-line down. I've now put around 12k miles on it, and the love just keeps on growing. Here's the story of the purchase:

I found this car on craigslist a few weeks ago while searching all of New England for 300TDs. I was immediately interested as it looked to be in really good shape, so two weeks ago, after talking to the owner a few times, on Wednesday I drove out to New Hampshire to take a look at it. I fell in love, and was back the next day to meet the owner and learn more about the car, as well as take a test drive. I put down a deposit, then went back the next day (Friday) to actually buy the car. On Friday afternoon, after getting the bill of sale, I drove to the RMV and got there five minutes before it closed. After waiting in line for two hours, the woman at the desk said "I have bad news... This car was reported stolen in Massachusetts in 1993". Nothing had come up on the CarFax or NADA reports, and my insurance company found nothing either. The woman said that there was nothing she could do until Tuesday (this was memorial day weekend). I went back to talk to the owner, and he was pissed. He had owned the car for eight years, and had it registered in New Hampshire with no problems. The owner before him was a good friend of his, and that guy had it registered in New Hampshire and Maine with no problems. So WTF was going on?