BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 300DT
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
1982 300D replace radiator

First let me admit that I'm a newbie without a shop manual. I'm looking to purchase one.

Actual problem:
How do I replace the radiator on my car? What are the gotchas that I need to avoid? Should I do a citrus flush first before changing the radiator?

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 02:55 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Jul 2008
Vehicle: 1985 300D W123 Cali
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
here's the page from The FSM

1985 300D cali 190K

#3 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 03:41 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Oct 2004
Vehicle: 1984 300CD, 1983 240TD Euro
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Here is some discussion on the flush,
http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w123...er-dealer.html

Gary

1984 300CD, Exterior Code # DB877 Petrol - Blue/Green Interior Code #155 MB-Tex Creme

"Never compromise, use Genuine Mercedes Parts".
(please take my advice)

SR 395 @ Mono Lake, CA
#4 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 04:08 PM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Sep 2008
Vehicle: BlueSilver '84 300D (bought new), Red '93 Jeep Wrangler locked and on 35s, Red Dodge Durango R/T.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lxwlxw View Post
First let me admit that I'm a newbie without a shop manual...What are the gotchas that I need to avoid?
If we tell you, you will be smarter, but if we let you experience the gotchas, you will be both smarter and stronger.

Have '84 300D I bought new, 182,000 mi now.
#5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 09:04 PM
BenzWorld Senior Member

Date registered: Jul 2006
Vehicle: European 1974 350SLC ,'78 300CD& '80 300CD sold , '81 240D SWMBO's Car '84 300CD & Euro
Thumbs up

It's a simple basic repair but be gentle ~ it's easy to break the little stuff .

Unless the radiator is physically broken , why are you changing it ? .