Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Which diesel model is better? 240 or 300 or 300 turbo?

4K views 22 replies 13 participants last post by  FinnJohn 
#1 ·
i would like to know which model of the great diesel benz is considered to be the best. Is it the economical 240 or the larger 300 or the turbo 300? Please explain answer.

#4 ·
well if i were to analyze which fits me better...

i am a college student that has to commute 38 miles daily. 19 to and 19 back. I cruise at about 35 to 45mph at 1500-1800rpm mph (here im my country the speed limit is 50mph) in my dad´s 93 hyundai excel for most of the trip. But i am looking to cruise in style in a diesel benz. i am being offered a 78 300d euro model in great condition with manual transmission for 5 grand. Is the engine in there the same as the us model 300d or is it different than the euro engine. I am planning to be a diyer even though i have no prior experience.but i am good with a manual and a set of tools. [:)]

#5 ·
At 88 bhp the non-turbo OM 617 will not be as powerful as the turbo charged engine with 123/125 bhp. I have a non-turbo engine with an automatic and when I work it right it can be quite quick.

However –

With a manual transmission the car you are considering will be very spirited. If it’s in as good condition as you say and a mechanic you trust says it is indeed in good shape I would buy it.

Is that $5000 USD? If so either the car must be very low miles or come with gold plated rims – that’s too much for any w123 in any condition, IMHO. How many miles?

Yes, it’s the same OM 617 engine in all cars, Euro and US spec.

#6 ·
RE: well if i were to analyze which fits me better...

eso7 - 10/3/2004 6:58 PM