BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Jul 2016
Vehicle: 1972 220 D (Red)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Restoring my 220 D

Hello!

I wanted to introduce myself and my project!

I'm a student of social sciences in my early 20s, living in Vienna/Austria and I've always had a big passion for pretty much all Mercedes models. Thank god my grandfather owned one, or maybe it was actually the car that made me like Mercedes for some reason, when I was small! Which makes it even weirder and crazier that I have decided to restore this car these days…

It was only at the age of 38 (!) that my grandfather had learned to drive and passed his driving license. He then proceeded to buy his first car: A Mercedes 220 D He didn't order it with any options except a special colour, which is (apparently) "Red 576" and the gear shift in the center console instead of the steering wheel (which was a free option on this Export car for the Austrian market). After many hundreds of thousands of kilometres across all of Europe, he stopped driving the car around 1990 when his daughter, my aunt, passed her license and needed a car. It was therefore also my aunts first car. My grandpa decided to "restore" the car before giving it to my aunt, so she would not be ashamed of driving an old Mercedes. Sadly, it wasn't done properly. The car was repainted in a colour that wasn't the original (my grandparents, especially my grandmother, had a shock when they saw the car repainted in the wrong colour), many things have been changed, but not correctly, etc. etc. My grandfather even decided to change the engine. I once asked him as to why he did that, when he said that the old engine was fine – he answered me, if he was going to restore the car, why not replace everything already? Haha, if he just knew the car could do millions of kilometres …