post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-30-2013, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Jan 2013
Vehicle: 1979 mercedes benz 300td wagon w123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy clutch all the way on floor, unable to shift

newbie here with perplexing problem....1979 300td wagon, 5 speed....so im driving down the road and the clutch goes flat, no pressure, and cant shift...finally got it in reverse and drove home backwards...not kidding. Turned off car and got my head back together. I had no previous problems with car...started her up again and she drove the 30 miles to work, no problems. At end of day was driving her home and got stuck again in 2nd...got home and husband said maybe slave cylinder and changed it out. Major bleeding problems...took forever...and clutch still flat and unable to engage gears. Would someone PLEASE offer advice? Airbound? How to correct? THANK YOU!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-30-2013, 10:16 AM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Dec 2011
Vehicle: 1967 W108 250s
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Garage
whenever replacing parts in a hydraulic clutch system make sure to bench bleed before installing. Better results will be encountered and much time will be saved. It does sound like a hydraulic issue.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-30-2013, 10:38 AM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 2001 E55 AMG
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Search for the oil can method, basically you get an old fashioned oil can (clean and pref new) and fill it with brake fluid. Attach a rubber hose and the other end of the hose to the bleed nipple, then pump the oil can so it pushes fluid up the pipe and the air comes out of the top.

Quote:
Eric Cantona quotes
When the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-30-2013, 01:22 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 1983 500 SEC Lorinser 1971 280se w108