W108 4.5 leaking stearing box - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-16-2012, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 1972 280SEL daily driver. 904 Dark Blue with cognac interior. euro 4.5 engine
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
W108 4.5 leaking stearing box

I searched the forum with no help, but i'm sure this is here some place. My '72 280SEL has developed a steadily worsening stearing box leak.

Anyone have a procedure for replacing seals or is it obvious and can you drop the box without removing exhaust? My Benz 108 manual has photos of removing this, but it is not a V8 so lots of room in their photos. Not so much in mine.

The steering has little or no play. I replaced all tie rod ends 18months ago, but the car sat for 12 years prior to my purchase and I have been fighting seals for the past 6 months (pwr steering pump, transmission front seal, oil cooler hoses, and now the stearing box).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 10:51 PM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Jul 2012
Vehicle: 1967 250S, twin Weber carbs, automatic trans, power windows, A/C, R134a conversion
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
My 1967 250 S steering box has also started an increasing leak. I purchased a seal kit and plan to do the job soon. What was your remedy?
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 03:51 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Member

Vehicle: 1972 280SEL daily driver. 904 Dark Blue with cognac interior. euro 4.5 engine
(Thread Starter)
Purchased the rebuild kit. I actually rebuilt it a week ago and have not had a chance to test it due to thanksgiving.

While I was at it, I replaced the subframe and engine mounts as well as the exhaust header and down tube gaskets. Hope to fire her up this afternoon and see what I get.
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 10:37 AM
Lifetime Premium Member

Date registered: Sep 2008