ADVICE, PLEASE: 1977 300d / 1979 300td trans & small issues - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
Date registered: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 300TD
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
ADVICE, PLEASE: 1977 300d / 1979 300td trans & small issues

Hey guys, I hope this is the right spot for this thread. I've been reading these forums for a while, but this is my first time posting.

I've recently dropped a 1977 300D motor into a 1979 300TD body. I'm using the '79 300TD trans because the 77 was shot. I have a few problems & questions to ask.

Right now the car is running pretty great; we were having some issues with the throttle but after adjusting the linkage we're able to get full throttle. As far as driving goes our only problem right now is with the trans. The car will shift the first time by itself around 30MPH, but the RPMs sound way too high. It'll shift sooner only if I lift off the gas. The rest of the time (for higher gears) it'll only shift when I lift off the gas pedal a bit to let it shift. The trans doesn't seem weak at all; I'm 100% sure the trans is good.

We're thinking it might be linkage? But not so sure how to go about it.

We've replaced the bushings on the shifter, and it feels great.. But I still have to put the shifter in N for reverse, and S for drive.. D is actually Netural. In essence, everything is down one. Though, Park still works in P.

Lastly, if anybody just has any advice about these diesel cars or just things I should keep in mind about putting the 77 motor in the 79 I'd REALLY appreciate it.

Last edited by Flofloyd; 07-11-2011 at 11:41 AM.
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-11-2011, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
Date registered: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 300TD
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)