post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-18-2010, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: May 2010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Turning a W115 into a Muscle Car!

Hi everyone

Well I was wondering.... I have an old W115 and I'd like to turn it into something new. As I don't have much money (my dream would be of course a Brabus W124 with a 7,3L V12... but yes), I have decided I will do everything by myself and will try to get cheap parts wherever I can! I thought I'd take the engine from an old american car with enough horsepower (let's say 400?!) from the car yard (I could probably get it for free) but I am not sure if it will fit in the W115 and if that works, will a 5L V8 fit in it? I'm thinking of turning it into something like this:

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3

I guess the look is the last and easiest part. So does anyone have some tipps where to start and what to do? I've never done something like that before so I'm like a stupid sheep at this point Any help is appreciated!

Greets
Revs
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-18-2010, 01:45 PM
GGR
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Apr 2006
Vehicle: W111 Coupe
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
an M117 V8 as found in the 560 SEL or even better in a 560 SL will be a straight fit with the right selection of parts. With the money and time saved from fabricating you can source a blower and get some decent power. Good thing with that alloy block V8 is that you can keep stock suspension and brakes. That will save you some more work and expenses. And the car will keep its balance.
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-18-2010, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

(Thread Starter)
I first had the same idea, but what does a Mercedes engine like that cost? Aren't they expensive, even if used? Only chance would be from a wreckage, if the engine is still in good condition of course, but where else can I find one for sale?