LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2010, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Nov 2010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Just got a 280SE 4.5 W108 1972

Hi, I been reading all over this forum, and found lots of good info.

so about the car, it looks like someone really took good care of it for 37 years and the last one year the guy who I bought it from did not care for it. the car is pretty clean (I will post pictures). This is my first project car, I am 26 and planning to restore this car over time. the hardest things I ever done on a car is changing timing belt and the power steering rack. I usually use my two cents but with this car I want the shop manual that comes on a CD or something, but not able to find it.

I want to list the issues and what I think is causing it and have you guys please give me feedback on anything:

-Power steering Leak and when full hard to steer to one direction (the hoses seem to leak, the fluid foams up, air in the system possibly, bleed the system)
-Brake is really spongy (thinking it might be the break calipers leaking)
-Engine seem to burn a little oil
-can smell coolant inside the car
-defrost controls dont seem to work
-once the starter just spin and didnt wanna start up the car (should I worry about this, what can be done?)

This is not a daily driver and is just going to sit in a garage until I fully restore it. also I am planning to do all the labor myself so where is the best place to get parts. (any experience with aftermarket parts available?) I prefer rebuilt OEM anytime over aftermarket.

I will post some pictures this weekend.

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2010, 12:29 PM
BenzWorld Senior Member
Date registered: Jul 2004
Vehicle: 1971 280SE 3.5 Coupe
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)