post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-07-2010, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Feb 2010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
classic 280s what should i look for before purchase

hello all

im looking to pick up a classic mercedes prefer the 280 4drs, im just wondering what i should look for before i buy. im new to benz but not to german cars, I have worked on a few, years back and just liked the way they drove. i located a 1968 280 close by and am going to look at it. its a 4dr automatic on the floor owner says its factory but the two i drove had them on the colum i think? any help would be great.

questions i have

1. is there rust areas that need to be looked at I.E suspension points etc.
2. is there parts that are getting hard to find that if missing i should be concerned about.
3. he says the rockers have rust is this common.
4. whats the life exptance of the 2.8 if maintained.

cheers ed

Last edited by carrera turbo; 02-07-2010 at 05:30 PM. Reason: left out the "i"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-07-2010, 08:42 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Feb 2008
Vehicle: 2004 W220 (S430) ; 2001 R129 (SL500) Sport
You are looking to buy a W108 chassis. They are one of the most handsome post-war designs Mercedes built, IMO. I owned a '72 280SEL 4.5 (W108) back in the early '80s, and it was my first Mercedes.

The floor shift was an option. You'll be able to tell the minute you see it whether it is factory or not. I can't imagine anyone going to the trouble of converting a column shifter to the floor.