LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Nov 2007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Post My 1957 180 w120 Project I got for FREE

Ok This will keep being updated so PLEASE keep checking back.

I got this for free from my Counseler Freshmen year of high school. I have been drooling and begging for this car for 3-4 years now and They kept saying they were going to finish it and drive it but they decided to face the facts and they were never going to finish it and call me a year later (this week) saying its mine to come and get it!!!

I went today and took the cover off and dear god has it rusted in a year. But nothing I cant sand off. These are the original colors that will be staying (repainted of course).

Info: They had a Datsun King cab that they did a switch with because the mercedes tranny had problems and couldnt get it seperated from the motor. So it has a Nissan motor in it (hmmm turbo opprotunity?).

Only thing it needs to be drivable is gas tank flush, and gasket on the rear end (gotta figure out where or how to make that one).

Yes thats snake skin... That ended up being about 4-5 feet long...

And I got a Drive shaft, Starter, Wiring harness, 2 other boxes I havent gone through yet.

Will be in my basement Saturday. Gotta go to U-haul and get a car hauler.

But my plans for now are stripping down all the black he painted and see what condition the chrome is in, if its bad then I got a hook up for getting chrome done... Then im gonna start sanding down the body and see where I get for that. He said theres no Bondo on the car so I should be in good shape. Then ill paint it the same color it is just so its original.

QUESTION: He said it ran and drove perfect when he parked it but the rear end leaked and needed a gasket. Anyone know what this could be and how to fix it? Appriciate it!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement