post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2009, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jan 2009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
"classic" for a year

Good day.

My parents had a 1961 220S and a 1959 190 (?) back when I was a teen. Great cars, which I enjoyed driving soon after I got my license.

Now that I'm nearing retirement, I'd like to re-live that old dream. The mission: drive an older MB cross country, taking a month or two, visiting family, friends, and former students.

As a retired teacher I won't have piles of money; in addition, I don't see myself keeping the MB forever, as I want the car for long drives but not for driving to WalMart and the dentist! But a coast to coast drive in a big heavy car, with some good memories thrown in - sounds good to me.

As I haven't had an MB for over 40 years, I don't have a clue about the practicality and maintenance requirements for an older MB these days.

So - what do you folks think of this idea: looking around for a 1960s or 1970s six cylinder sedan, fixing it up (?), driving it for a year, then selling it.

Old guy's brainless fantasy?

Thanks all. The adventure begins.
Tom in Connecticut
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2009, 10:09 PM
POS
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Oct 2005
Vehicle: 1966 250SE Cab, 1989 500SEL euro
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
I'd find a '60s sedan like a 280SE and drive it. They only sell for $4000 or so for a good one, so you shouldn't have to fix it up too much. Just buy it, drive it around your hometown for awhile to work out any of the bugs, learn to fix the little things, then hit the road. When you get back, you can either keep it around awhile longer or sell it for about what you paid. Sounds like fun; whenever I get more time in my life (too busy these days), I've always wanted to take the 300D on the same kind of trip.

- Brian

1989 500SEL ECE
1966 Mercedes 250SE Cabriolet