BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: May 2007
Vehicle: 76 300D
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Question Help! '76 300D Has Intermitent Knocking

Hello All,

I'm a newbie here and greet you all with a problem ;(.

Driving from Massachusetts to Colorado this weekend. My76 300D had been sitting for a year in storage in MA. It was tough to start, and I used a tiny tiny amount of starting fluid to prevent a complete battery drain...There was a brief clanking 20-30 seconds after she turned over, but the initial idle was normal. Everything seemed OK driving around town for a few days. I heard a bit of diesel knock on hills, and used some Red Line just before begining the trip West.

On the highway, intermitent knocking became apparent. On later fill ups, I tried Lukas and Sea Foam additives, with no change. The knocking is erratic/intermitent, and not rhythmic like the knocking of a cold motor. If I push down on the accelerator on the flats at 70MPH, it is not present, or maybe there will be a light "click" or two. Sounds like just one cylinder or injector to me. It does sound like a typical diesel knock if I accelerate onto the highway before it has reached 180 degrees. OTOH, motor sounds great when throttling on and off at speed.

I have replaced both the primary and secondary fuel filters today with no change. The old primary filter was clear. Mostly, the pinging, (kind of a light rattle, like a gasoline engine with bad timing) comes and goes at steady speed. When it occurs the frequency is almost like the random sound of popcorn starting to pop. It goes away for 5-10 minutes, then starts up again. Not present at idle, or revving it while looking under the hood.