Loosing my head - need help - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2007, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: May 2006
Vehicle: 1965 Mercedes 220 SEb Coupe (w111)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Loosing my head - need help

Hi there,
I'm a fairly newbie home mechanic and would appreciate inputs and recommendations:
I recently did a compression test on my '64 220 SEb.
The numbers are: 90 / 100 / 100 / 110 / 50 / 80
From what I understand, this isn't very good; and the 50 is particularly worrisome.
The car had been sitting for almost 5 years before I got it 6 months ago.
It does smoke a lot when started, but otherwise cruises at 80 mph on the highway.

I removed the valve cover and checked the valve tappet clearance. It's very much off on all cylinders. But I haven't figured out how to adjust it.

I understand that a compression loss is either caused by
1. worn head gasket
2. valves sitting improperly - which requires a valve job
3. piston ring that is shot - which requires an engine overhaul

I have a few questions - and I'm not even sure they're the right one:
a. How urgently should I address the problem? What's the risk?
b. Does adjusting the tappet clearance impacts compression?
c. Is there any inexpensive fix I should try before taking the car to a mechanic for a valve job?
d. What is the best way to get the head/valve rebuilt?
e. What is the typical cost for a valve job?
f. Any recommendation for a mechanic in the bay area?

I guess my general question is what's the most cost-efficient way to address this?...

Thanks a ton in advance.
- David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2007, 06:42 PM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Dec 2006
Vehicle: 1938 170V Cab A ///2000 320ML
Help with Lost Head

I had a gas 220 of that vintage but never had to open up the engine. Here are some general comments.