post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-06-2006, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jul 2006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
'74 450SL Timing chain/guides replacement

Hello, folks,
Just thought I'd share some of my experience with my recently acquired '74, 450SL, equipped with D-Jetronic F/I system. When I purchased the car, the seller/owner claimed to have no knowledge of the timing chain and track guides ever having been replaced; an honest, if unwelcome, bit if news. He also added, he would have no qualms of driving the car long distances, with only a tune up! To which I said to myself, "right!" The car has 210K miles on it and was running very rough and rich at idle.

After reading everything I could get my hands on for replacing the timing chain and rails, I ordered the parts and planned the event. I am in the thick of it, as I write. This is a daunting task, to say the least, and I am a profesionally trained mechanic/machinist/ engineer with many years of working on engines of various types including, aircraft, and with access to a very complete, well equipped shop, though not specific to MB. It is a difficult task, not because of the technology involved, but because of poor design on the part of the manufacurer (YES, MB!), in the placing and mounting methods for the engine driven accessories, in addtition to poorly written manuals and thirty plus years of crud build-up in the surrounding work area. Placement of these accessories prevented proper cleaning of the surrounding work areas, prior to initiating the dismantling operation. Deciphering MB's budget-driven tech writing is only surpased by those of developing Asian manufacturer's, on how to assemble your child's swing set or a BBQ grill -- If you now what I mean! And, the Haynes manual -- well, what good can be said?