79 450sl... chugging, sputtering, and problems accelerating! - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-02-2006, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: May 2006
Vehicle: 1979 450sl
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bcd5312
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy 79 450sl... chugging, sputtering, and problems accelerating!

This is my first time posting anything, so hopefully im doing this right

ok I've been experiencing horrible sputtering, and hesitation problems with my 450sl. it has a new fuel pump and filter on it. After the engine is warmed up it will not accelerate when you press the pedal, when it gets like this you have to pull over because it will not go over 40 or so mph; and often when i come to a stop it just shuts off, and it esp. cant go up hills when it does this- which is a problem because i live on a mt. But the strange thing is that after you wait a few minutes it will crank back up and run strong for a few miles (sputtering still a little) and then it will do it again. My mechanic can't figure out the problem. so I am in desperate need of help from anyone who can help me find out what is happening! Another mechanic i took it to before this one, replaced the catalytic converter thinking it wasnt working properly; this fixed the problem somewhat but it continued to have the same problem esp at higher speeds when i went to pass someone. i have also been researching and i think it maybe the Mass Air Flow sensor or the Air guide housing, or the throttle valve housing. I was thinking this was a problem bc it started this problem again after i cleaned the flat metal plate thing that is on the Air Flow Sensor underneath the air cleaner, and manually pushed it down to clean around it better. Would I have caused the problem by me doing this?!?!?!?! If anyone could help me that would be GREATLY appreciated! Could i have clogged st?!?!

Brad D.
1979 450SL
Sponsored Links