Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

NEW GUY Is it worth it?

2K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  KCM 
#1 ·
alright heres the deal, my wifes grandmother just recently past away, she owned a 1970 250 sedan mercedes. since i was the only one in the family who showed interest in the car, they gave it to me. im wanting to fix it up for the family. so is this worth it or not? the car is in great shape, a little rust, fadded paint, and a few minor problems in the interior. it has a broken left passenger tail light. other than that all parts are thier. it sat in a garage for 15 years. the big problem is the engine, i found a mechanic to fix it but im just wondering if this is going to cost a ton of money or not. i have no past experience with benzes. please help i want to do this for the family, but i dont want to be poor for the rest of my life.

http://www.benzworld.org/publications/pub.asp?id=443

#3 ·
Can' t tell...

... from those photos.

Clean it up (remove the tire from the back seat for starters) and see what you think - post some daylight pics for the forum and you'll get all kinds of responses.

Some of us here are realists, others will throw themselves between the crusher and any Benz - do a bunch of searching and thread reading here before you make the call.

Sad to say, if you do it for sentimental reasons for the family without an absolute budget (max), you need to start getting sentimental about it too.

'course, if you start doing any kind of "restore" on it yourself, you'll find yourself "sentimental" in a hurry.

If that happens, you'll probably get the "bug" - in which case you've come to the right place.

In the event you choose not to go for it - post it for sale here (RECORDS! = $$$) and one of us will probably take it off your hands for a reasonable price.

They are easy to work on and the folks you find here help make it fun to do so.

I say - keep it in the family as a Sunday cruiser (unless its a basket case because of rust).