Help! Purchasing 2 door late 60's-early 80s Mercedes coupe - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-30-2005, 03:03 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: May 2005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Help! Purchasing 2 door late 60's-early 80s Mercedes coupe

Hello,

I am preparing to move to the SF Bay area in California after living in Boston without a car. I am interested in buying an older car with a little style, and also to buy something nice that is less than the 50K+ for a typical new luxury vehicle. In searching through Craig's List, I have become enamored with two door Mercedes vehicles from this period. But I have no knowledge or experience, and am not equipped to know if buying this sort of vehicle would be the right choice for me, let alone how to intelligently go through the process of buying one. In short, here are my requirements:

* Own my own company, so would only need to drive perhaps four days a week, relatively short commmutes

* Would like to be able to take longer highway road trips, but very infrequently

* Should have covered garage parking at all times

* Am willing to spend about $4000 per year on the vehicle over a planned 5 year ownership cycle. Thus, am willing to have that either be in up-front costs (auto purchase) or lower auto purchase and significant upgrade/mechanic costs along the way

* Can tolerate some service but do not want to be breaking down and stranded on a regular basis

* Am somewhat concerned about insurance costs, would it be more, less or same compared to new cars?

* Am a bit concerned about gas mileage; how many miles to the gallon?

* What hidden costs or other issues should I be aware of?

Thanks in advance for and insight and recommendations you might have!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-30-2005, 05:13 PM
BenzWorld Newbie

RE: Help! Purchasing 2 door late 60's-early 80s Mercedes coupe