best bet in vintage? I own an Audi now.... - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2005, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: May 2005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
best bet in vintage? I own an Audi now....

I need help and you look like the people who know the answers. I am a realtor who sells high end property in Seattle. I am currently driving an Audi S4. There is not enough room in the backseat for my clients to be comfortable for 4 to 6 hours. I would like to buy a vintage Mercedes because of their classic beauty. My preference is for the older models with lots of chrome that look like the German ambassador should be in the back seat. But I worry a little about maintenence, upkeep, ect. I'd welcome any advice from your forum. You seem to be experts. PS, I really don't want to get to know my mechanic better than I do what should I do? Models, years, recommendations? Oh yes, let's try to keep it under 15K including rebuilds, ect.
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2005, 01:43 PM
BenzWorld Junior Member
Date registered: May 2005
RE: best bet in vintage? I own an Audi now....

Cool idea to take clients in a classic Mercedes but consider this...

Do you want to drive it in the rain and snow? An older Mercedes has nowhere near the rust protection compared to today's cars. It will rot... fast.

Compared to today's cars (especially an S4)the performance and handling will be dramatically different. Especially loaded with people.

If you get an older Mercedes and something does fails can you afford to be without the car for several days? Often parts will take some searching to find.
(Also, it would be bad to have it fail when clients are along for the ride)

Do you want a diesel?

Would a later model suite you better? '80's 300 series perhaps. Probably more comfortable and possibly more reliable. You may find getting parts easier as well.