Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

An Aussie 638 engine rebuild project.

39K views 132 replies 18 participants last post by  Gixxe -Pat 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone :thumbsup:

It might be worthwhile to post up my current project.

This 638 is a 2000 model, 2.2 cdi turbo. Manual.

It's done 264,000 km.

I'm a carpenter and thought I'd get a van. I don't really need it for work, definitely can do without it, but like the idea of it anyway. I will use it for work and other stuff. The shape and look of the 638 has been alluring me for a while. Sexy to me :D

I've done quite a few mechanical projects but this is my first diesel ever. Hopefully by the end of this rebuild I will have fair understanding of them and hoping you lot will advise along the way.

Here is a pic I took of it when I got it home. Paid 2 grand to a mate for it not running. He's a close friend that needs some dough so didn't haggle him. Rolled the dice on it, but calculated another engine into the deal. Don't really care how the figures end up. Close enough. Whatever.

It had the usual 4th injector dramas. I re-tapped, reseated and fitted a reco injector. Did the usual checks and bought a new battery.

Wouldn't crank. At. All. Bugger. A few ticks and noises sometimes. Played with the electrics for a few nights after work. Did the starter relay positive feed ecu bypass and still wouldn't crank. Grrr.

Then finally one night it started to turn over. Yayyyy. Well, just a short lived celebrating, because now you could crank it until the cows came home. Wouldn't fire.

Took the plastic intake piping off...and uh oh... water was pouring out the top of the pipe that come up from under the engine and into the left hand side of the plastic plenum thingy. You're joking right? Nope :eek:

Undid the rubber hose from the front of that steel under engine air feed from the turbo and fug me. About 5 litres poured out. Crap.

Not real good hey.