FL, Tallahassee - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-19-2011, 06:14 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Sep 2010
Vehicle: 1984 300TDT Wagon (wife's ride), 1983 300SD (my ride),1977 300D Sedan (for sale), 1984 300d (Parts C
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
FL, Tallahassee

Looking for a good Diesel repair shop that is trustworthy and reliable. I am a mechanic in NC, and have a friend that lives in Tallahassee with an 85 300sd. She is looking for someone local to her that can do some repairs on her car.

Thanks....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 09:11 AM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jan 2013
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Recommended shop in Tallahassee, FL

This is an older thread, but I wanted to update it with a recommendation for anyone seeking a good, competent repair shop in Tallahassee. I can not say enough about Jon Porter and the guys at Wagen Haus. They specialize in VW, Audi and Porsche and are experts in older air-cooled Porsches, but work on Mercedes, BMW, Jaguar, Mini etc. and are about as honest as they come.

Jon in particular will be honest with you and help you determine what needs to be done vs. what is recommended, based on your budget. I recently purchased a used 2002 SLK that I knew had a couple leaks, oil and transmission. He gave me a punch list of what should be done and told me what work was more important to do right away, versus what I could wait on. He saved me almost $1000 over what the dealer had told me and two months later, the tranny that the dealer tried to tell me was on its last leg is running strong with only a gasket and filter kit.

They might specialize in VW Group cars, but they appreciate and understand all German makes. Mike Davis is my go to guy on Mercedes and BMW questions. Give them a try.