BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Oct 2013
Vehicle: 1998 SLK230 Kompressor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
1999 SLK230 Kompressor - Worth buying?

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie as of today and was wondering if anyone had any advice on what to look for in purchasing an 1999 SLK230 Kompressor.

I am going to look at this car today, but am somewhat helpless as I have never owned a Mercedes before. I asked, and they said they have a Vehicle History report that I can review, and it is already MD inspected, which were my 1st two questions.
I know the material on console is an issue as it chips (from reading already), but is there anything specifically that I should look for in this year car?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

1999 Mercedes-Benz SLK230 Kompressor, $11,995 - Cars.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-26-2013, 10:59 AM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Dec 2007
Vehicle: 1985 500SL - 2002 SL500 Silver Arrow Edition
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
For $12,000, you can get a nice, lower mileage 97-02 SL500. Much better car in every way.

There's a wheeler dealers episode about the SLK. Touches on the common issues. Look it up online.

Supercharges like to get noisy. Top is not reliable. Certainly fun to drive.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-26-2013, 11:24 AM
One of the BW Old Guard

Date registered: Aug 2004
Vehicle: 1988 560Sl
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerH860 View Post
For $12,000, you can get a nice, lower mileage 97-02 SL500. Much better car in every way.

There's a wheeler dealers episode about the SLK. Touches on the common issues. Look it up online.

Supercharges like to get noisy. Top is not reliable. Certainly fun to drive.
vis-a-vis, this post...
yummy!

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/sale...tible-49k.html

RM Smith www.rmsmithco.com

Where is it again that we are going... And why are we in a handbasket?