1987 300d - $2500 - opinions on this deal please! - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-22-2012, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Oct 2007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
1987 300d - $2500 - opinions on this deal please!

Hi, I'm a newb but love the diesel 123 - had one 5 years ago for that threw a tranny and I sold it cheap. This 124 is up for sale that I am considering buying.

The good: all new:
rebuild transmission
radiator
flywheel
battery
glow plugs
alternator
tires
no rust
Runs okay, started right up, no shimmies, shakes, fairly quiet, good acceleration, smooth ride. did not diesel when shutting off. A/C okay
Car Fax says it's a clean title, no odo probs.

The bad: overall minimal maintenance by this owner of 2years, inside and out dirty, neglected paint, odo stopped at 170k (owner says it stopped on him when he disconnected the cruise control), now the odo, tach, and speedometer are not working. Sunroof is stuck closed due to a switch problem. 1 small ding in left rear fender, 1 on R-side pulled out by hand.

Your opinions on this deal please! I am a minimal mechanic and can do some of the repairs with guidance on this site. Thank you in advance for your 2cents here. Thx, Clyde.

Last edited by clydeblair@hotmail.com; 10-22-2012 at 02:31 PM. Reason: additional info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-22-2012, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

(Thread Starter)
Pictures of the 1987 300D
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3G13M33Jb5I85Gf5F4cah6d868c84a06a1c73.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	475113   Click image for larger version

Name:	3Gf3Ia3N55Ia5He5Mccah4a7ca850b4901c22.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	475114   Click image for larger version

Name:	3K33I43J25N45M85J3cah1a26010434af1c87.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	475115   Click image for larger version