post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-07-2010, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Jul 2010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Question Please help estimate value of an 80s 230e

Hello all,

I am new to the BenzWorld forum & this is my first post so please be gentle w/me I have read both "READ THIS BEFORE POSTING!" and "Bruce's Guide to Buying a Used Mercedes" (thank you, Bruce!) before posting my request.

I am hoping for some help estimating the value of a very nice Mercedes 230e (W123 I believe?) I came across this past weekend in California. The sedan appeared to be early 80s and caught my eye due to a very fine exterior - beautiful metallic olive green paint & virtually no chips or dents. The only damage I could see was a cracked front headlamp/ lense. The interior appeared to be in very good condition also - the tan leather seats were in tact. In all, it appeared to be in excellent condition. Initially, I was looking for a car for a daughter who is about to start college, but after mulling it over, I think she needs something newer and I need this nice old MB :-D

With luck I was able to locate the owner and asked if the car was for sale. To my surprise, the kindly older Italian gentleman said "Make me an offer!" - I wasn't sure how to respond. He proceeded to tell me that he was the original owner and that the car was mechanically sound. He said the only real problems were the broken headlamp and stated the speedometer didn't work, but that he had a new OEM speedo in the box in his garage that he'd had for a couple years but never bothered to install/reconnect. The owner told me the car was quite peppy and that he drove it regularly without any problems.

Unfortunately, due to time pressure, I had to go before I could ask many more questions. The owner of the vehicle gave me his contact information and told me to get back to him this weekend with an amount if I was interested.