LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-10-2015, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Nov 2015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Windscreen purchase

Newbie here..... Car I just bought does not have windscreen and I want to purchase one..... Anyone find a " good deal" on a new one?
What does it take to install it?
Does it attach to roll bar (laying down position)?
Where else attached to?
Thx to all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-10-2015, 01:00 PM
R129 HTT Founder Member

Date registered: Sep 2012
Vehicle: 040 1996 SL500, 775U 2008 R350 4Matic
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 913 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Garage
Just attaches to the roll bar. Probably can order new from MB or just look on eBay they pop up on there often.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

1996 SL500 Photo Collection Updated 01-14-16

Mercedes aren't for people who want to have one, it's for people who can have one.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-10-2015, 02:34 PM
BenzWorld Senior Member

Date registered: Nov 2009
Vehicle: 2001 SL500, 2012 Corvette Z06, 2013 Lexus RX350, 2012 Cadillac CTS Coupe, 2015 Ram Sport
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
The windscreen attaches to the roll bar with straps and clips. That sounds low-tech but it fits snugly and looks fine. It hinges independently, so you can flip it up without raising the roll bar, but it does not interfere with the roll bar. My car has straps and a cover inside against the back of the trunk to store it, but I usually leave mine mounted. It closes the space behind the seats when it is folded down.

It is almost useless at blocking any wind unless you raise the side windows, and in my opinion, our cars look really dorky with the windows raised, so I rarely use the wind screen, and only when my wife is in the car. I don't have long enough hair to care about wind.