Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Oxygen Sensor.

6K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  cwmoser 
#1 ·
In getting all my cluster lights working I have found that I now have a bright glaring oxygen sensor that remain on after the engine is started. Is the 83 the model the model that when you change the sensor the light will (or should) go out.

Is it possible the oxygen sensor the source of my erratic idle.

#2 ·
Walt, it would appear that your O2 probe has been changed previously. According to sect 14-050 of the engine repair manual page 21 0f 26, after the probe is changed at 30,000 miles or 50,000 km, the warning indicator is disabled by removing the bulb. Seems the law only required the warning be given to change the probe once. Can't find where, but I thought I read somewhere it was recommended to change it every 30k. The O2 probe is one input to the ECU that regulates air-fuel ratio.

Best regards, Jack

#3 ·
I am new to oxygen sensors. I've been running older Chevrolets for several years. My car has 1999981 miles on and with all the other item that have found neglected I think I will go ahead and change the sensor. Maybe it'll cure my erratic idling problem.

Thanks

#7 ·
You can see if it's been changed by looking for a splice in the wire next to the sensor. Service interval is as stated 30000 miles or so. It's cheap and an important part of your injection system. Make sure you have a good ground, described in EG107
I rolled up under the car and checked. There is no splice in the wire on the oxygen sensor. If what you say is true then that would mean the car has its original oxygen sensor.

:laugh Gee do suppose its time for a new one?

#5 ·
I too have a 1983 380SL ... yes at 30K miles the Oxygen Sensor light comes
on. Mercedes replaced the Sensor and removed the O2 lamp in the
Instrument Cluster. Kinda crude electronics 33 years ago :)

#6 ·